Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles Says So!
If you are planning a move to Boise, the State of Idaho gives you up to 90 days to register and title your vehicles to comply with state law. You can do it
sooner if you like. It can be a giant hassle or pretty pain free. Usually registering and title are pretty painless, as there are multiple locations in Ada county that do registration and titles. You can show up pretty much any time and the lines will be reasonable. That said, first thing in the morning is your best bet. I recently went to the main dmv site at 400 Benjamin lane at 4 in the afternoon, zoo to say the least (for drivers licenses, this local is only one for licensing). But there is one on Chinden in Garden City, another on Fairview in Meridian. HERE is a map to all 5 locations, but remember only Benjamin does drivers licenses! I recently needed to renew my drivers license and ducked into the Meridian Idaho location at about 9 am. No line what so every....they only do registration and title at this location. I proceeded to the Boise Idaho location on Benjamin. I was expecting a zoo. I was at Benjamin last money for a title issue on one of our motorcycles and it was a standing room only crowd and mayhem ensued. That said the line for titles went quickly and I was out of there in no time.
What Will You Need?
You should bring the following:
1. The vehicle being titled and registered. You will need to have the vehicle identification number (VIN) inspected. This inspection can generally be performed by a deputy of either the county assessor motor vehicle office or the county sheriff’s office.
2. Current title and registration. If the vehicle has not been titled in your name, be sure the title has been signed over to you by the seller, and that you have a bill of sale from the seller. If the title is being held by a lienholder, bring the lienholder’s name and address. If your title has been lost, you will need to apply for a duplicate title from the state of issuance.
3. Your personal identification.
4. Cash or a check for payment of any applicable taxes and fees
What do I need to do to get an Idaho driver’s license?
For information regarding Idaho driver licenses, obtain a copy of the Idaho Driver’s Handbook, from your county sheriff’s driver license office. To find the driver’s license office in your county, check under the county sheriff listings in your local telephone directory, or check the Sheriff’s Office list at the Driver’s License and ID Cards tab.
What Will Registering Your Car Cost?
Idaho code sets the basic annual registration fee for passenger vehicles (pickup trucks, neighborhood electric vehicles, or other motor vehicles having a maximum gross weight 8,000 pounds or less) as follows:
•$69 for vehicles one or two years old
•$57 for vehicles three to six years old
•$45 for vehicles seven or more years old
Here is the LINK to the dmv page for those who are moving to Boise or Meridian Idaho!
What About My Drivers Licence?
How about this a non U.S. citizen can drive for a year without an Idaho license, but if you move from another state you have only 90 days from moving here to get a new license...
You will need to take the written test, you can google and download the dmv booklet to study.
The driving skills test's are administered at the discretion of the person taking your money. So stand up straight and smile!
Be read to relinquish your drivers license from whence you came. If you have lost that they can try and pull it up online, order a picture from said previous state or finally you can provide a passport and certified birth certificate if necessary
You also need to provide proof of residence which can include a piece of mail postmarked to in last 90 days, a utility bill from last 90 days or a copy of home ownership papers or rental agreement.Because Ada County only has one of the 5 dmv locations that do drivers licenses, getting there early is key they start doing testing for new drivers around 10 am..... The picture inset above shows and almost empty 400 N Benjamin facility at around 9:30 am on a Monday.
Idaho residents holding a driver's license from another state have to surrender the out-of-state license and will need to take a vision test. The written and/or driving skills tests may be waived at the discretion of the examiner. However, like other applicants, new residents must provide proof of identification, residency and presence.
Non-US citizens residing in Idaho may apply for an Idaho driver's license, as long as they can provide proof that they are legally authorized to be in the United States, and meet all the other requirements. Note that an Idaho driver's license issued to a foreign national will expire no later than the last date on which they are authorized to be in the United States by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service. Idaho allows non-US citizen's to drive without an Idaho license up to a year though it is advisable to carry an International Driver's Permit (IDP).
The cost for a non-commercial (Class D) license is as follows:
8-year license (21-62 years of age) - $45
4-year license (21 years of age and over) - $24.50
3-year license (under 21 years of age) - $20.50
1-year license (17 or 20 years of age) - $12.25
There is also a $3 fee for a knowledge test and a $15 fee for a driving skills test.